RUSH v. The Light Bazooka


I carried my trusty ‘Light Bazooka’ to try and capture one of my favourite –and oft-maligned*– musical acts, RUSH. I arrived over an hour early hoping to snag a reasonable mid-field location for the 100-400L to work its magic, but I forgot two important things about RUSH that could thwart the mighty Light Bazooka:

  1. Rush fans are overwhelmingly male, which means my usual height advantage in a typical Bluesfest crowd is negated for picture taking.
  2. Never underestimate how may RUSH fans there are! Even showing up 1.5 hours early I was relegated to the cheap-seats. I had been to big Bluesfest shows already (Metric, B-52’s, Flaming Lips) but this crowd was HUGE.

Below represent my best efforts to capture the 3-hour marathon (particularly for Neil Peart) that was the highlight of my Bluesfest so far!

IMG_7716 IMG_7387
IMG_7613 IMG_7606
IMG_7726 IMG_7730
IMG_7351 IMG_7406
IMG_7424 IMG_7663
*For anyone who think these guys take themselves seriously, come to one show –especially on this tour– and you will find otherwise.
2 Responses

  1. You mean you didn’t bring a stepladder? You might need to get yourself something like this guy uses: http://polepics.com/

    I saw a bunch of his stuff in Picton a few weeks back…very interesting how the perspective changes!

  2. I don’t go quite to the extremes that photographer does, but I do use my 5′ monopod to lift the camera above the heads (many of my shots are done this way). It does introduce a lot of extra camera shake though, which is particularly troublesome when at 400mm.

    Some of Polepics’ shots are HDR, which is a new technique that I haven’t played with yet, but leads to some very cool shots of static subjects. I will be playing with that once my concert season is over.

Leave a Reply

