Why I Love My iPhone…


I was enjoying an audio book called “Brain Rules: 12 Principles for Surviving and Thriving at Work, Home, and School” by John Medina and I ran into a situation which really made me stop and think about just how awesome mobile internet is:

The author was describing a pivotal event in his life, that guided him to a career in math and science.   It was a trip with his mother to see the Disney Movie “Donald in Mathmagic Land” which he cited as one of the best uses of pictures to teach a subject.  It apparently was also good enough for an Oscar nomination in 1959 (won by ‘Glas’,  -a movie on glass-blowing set to a jazzy score- so in hindsight perhaps not a hot year for short films).

I had the sudden urge to pause the book, and get a visual idea of what he was talking about.  A quick search on the iPhone’s YouTube application found the short (below in 3 parts) and I was able to watch it, then return to the book with a much richer perspective on what the author was trying to explain.  Imagine trying to do that on your PHONE 3 years ago? Wow!

So not only does my iPhone allow me to get through 2-3 books per month (in contrast to my previous 0), but I can also get much more context on the material I am ‘reading’. Pure heaven for a geek like myself!

And some good mathemagical tips on playing pool:

Leave a Reply

