AAPL: Sold the Shares I Picked Up Yesterday


Apple LogoSince I really didn’t want to have to pay for them, I wanted to sell and take the gains from my shares I purchased yesterday, and left the rest in to take advantage of gains that will hopefully come over the next few weeks.

Based on pre-market trading, I was hoping for more of a pop in the stock, but I always find that pre-market numbers don’t give you much idea of what is going to happen at market open.  I will take the 9% gain for one day, and return to a more long-term view on this stock.

My biggest struggle when considering if to sell or not is really more to do with the CDN-USD exhange rate.  Since I have been buying AAPL stock, the $USD has ramped from close to parity to a +26% rate.  This gain in the USD would make transferring the USD held in Apple stock back to Canadian dollars attractive.

Generally, based on how soundily AAPL trounced their estimates, I was hoping for more.  RIM is climbing like crazy, but the only explanation I can see is that Obama has one.  This just doesn’t make any sense.

Leave a Reply

