Transit Strike: A Silver Lining


I saw Ottawa Mayor Larry O’Brien in the Starbucks today, and I almost went up to him to say ‘Hi Larry, I know you are probably taking a lot of flack for the length of the transit strike, but I for one am quite happy about it!’.

I decided not to, for the same reason that I leave other celebrities I see alone:  I am sure they get quite enough of people coming up to talk to then when they are trying to enjoy some down time.

Before I get into my rationale for this statement about the transit strike, and draw the ire of those significantly inconvenienced by it (who I feel for), I want to state that I am pro-public transit, as long as it isn’t me that is using it!  😉

Some reasons why I am enjoying the transit strike:

  • Route 151, which runs right past my house every half hour, no longer ruins the peace and quiet with the loud roar of the bus engine (why do they have to be so damn loud??)
  • Lanes previously reserved for buses only, are now opened up to all traffic, allowing much greater flow of car traffic during off-peak hours
  • I haven’t noticed any change to my morning commute in terms of more traffic, or longer transit time
  • In a time when city budgets are getting strained, and tax hikes are imminent, it seems that one way to save money is not to run buses!
  • The taxi drivers, who until recently were under duress due to high gas prices, now have gas prices halved and more business than they can handle!  They should be happy with this as well!

Anyway, that is my take on the silver lining of this… may the flames commence…

5 Responses

  1. Things I hope the transit strike will enable;
    – Tax Refund. I look forward to a property tax rebate for 2008 and 2009 as public transit is clearly broken out in my taxes. Since the city is not delivering the service, the citizens must demand a refund of the taxes they have paid. Tax paying citizens of Ottawa should gather together to demand this refund.
    – Privatization. I am a big believer in private companies delivering all sorts of service. I hope that this strike brings about the privatization of transit in Ottawa. If people want to ride buses they should pay the true cost and make it a profitable business. I see no reason why my tax dollars should pay for this business. Airlines and Taxis are all private businesses. Why does government need to run a bus business? Government should be about policy and not about delivering services. I am anti-public transit.
    – Kill Ottawa light rail. The proposal of light rail in Ottawa is not a good business decision. A union run light rail is just plain stupid. I hope Ottawa kills the light rail project as a result of this strike.
    – Smaller Government. I hope people never return to public transit and that is forces them to layoff drivers and staff. Can you believe that over 2300 people are on strike. 2300 people to run a transit service. Clearly an inefficient organization driven by union demands.

  2. “Lanes previously reserved for buses only, are now opened up to all traffic, allowing much greater flow of car traffic during off-peak hours”

    Really?! I’m assuming that doesn’t apply to highway lanes, cause they certainly aren’t being used.

  3. Just wondering why you would buy a house along a bus route if you don’t want buses travelling past your house?

Leave a Reply

