Rogers Pushes Their Luck


I recently received a notice in the mail telling me that if I want to continue recieving a 15% discount for having a bundle of services from Rogers, that I would have to sign up for a 2 year commitment.

Hmmm… I wonder what assurances there are in this contract that they will not just hike service prices by 15% or more over the next 2 years?  Lets have a look at some excerpts of the fine print from their ‘terms & conditions’ which you must agree to in order to continue to receive the discount:

  • Eligible Rogers services include: subscriptions to any of the following categories of Rogers services: wireless services, Internet access services, phone services and television services. (But note that VoIP and home phone count as just one service, not two, as do internet and mobile internet).
  • Basic cable is not eligible, neither are phones on corporate wireless accounts.
  • Up to $100 early termination fee for EACH service!
  • Here is a biggie: Charges that are not recurring monthly service fees for Rogers services are ineligible for the Discount. For examples of ineligible non-recurring charges: installation, connection and/or relocation fees, pay-per-view television and video-on-demand charges, one-time activation fees, local airtime charges, pay-per-use Text Messaging, and roaming charges, long distance and other telephone usage charges; and any additional Rogers Cable, Rogers Wireless, RogersYahoo!® Hi-Speed Internet and Rogers Home Phone™ service options and/or features selected, hardware/equipment rentals or purchases (wow, how generous!).
  • Wait, nothing about protecting the customer from ramping up service fees!

So I gave Rogers a call to see what assurances (if any) they could give that rates wouldn’t be hiked soon as a service contract was signed.  The person I talked to confirmed that no such assurance existed, but assured me that the discount would be applied to the new service rate if it were hiked (thanks!).

Another thing that the customer service agent clarified, is that add-ons on wireless accounts, including extra data plans wireless features are NOT covered by the discount. Since local, long-distance and roaming charges are also not covered, the total dollar value of my ~$100 monthly bill that will be covered by the discount is only $35!  So I save $5 a month, but risk a $100 fee if I cancel within the first year (in my case I have already signed on for 3 years, so not a big deal).

I give Rogers credit for their guts, this is quite a gamble! Will they lock in revenues or lose customers?  Rogers is the envy of all other cable companies for their low churn rate of customers, so this isn’t a reaction to bleeding customers.  Looks like they might be getting too greedy!

Oh, by the way, I was told that I would have to sign up to the new plan by October 29th in order to maintain my 15% discount.

Disclosure: I don’t currently own Rogers stock, and based on this news, I have no intent to.

2 Responses

  1. […] my new post on how Rogers is trying to lock you in with a service bundling contract, check out “Rogers Pushes Their Luck”. There is a LOT of fine print when it comes to this new contract, expectially with wireless plans, […]

  2. The more I think about it… the less likely I am to sign up for this 15% discount. Perhaps I will remove one of their services, like home phone, or cable to save the 15%.

    I really don’t like the idea of not being able to cancel if the service gets bad. I have been pretty annoyed at their cable service lately because of lots of digital noise, and a really crappy set top box.

Leave a Reply

