The BEST Restaurant in Ottawa – (Was) Singapore Restaurant!


Those of you who know me well are probably surprised that it took so long for me to do a post about my favourite restaurant.

To be clear, I have lots of favourites, depending on the occasion, but there is NO restaurant that I go to more often than Singapore. For example, last night I went to ’18’ in The Market (Ottawa) and that was probably the best meal I have had in the city, but that was $130 for a couple, so… I am not doing that once a week!

Singapore restaurant’s location does not lend itself to easy discovery. It is across the street from the Coliseum Cinemas on Carling, but is hidden by an Indian Restaurant. Most people find it by referral, and I think I probably account for about a hundred of those so far.

While the whole menu is awesome, particularly the Curry Shrimp and Black Bean anything, the meal that I have on average once a week, is the Singapore Lakksa. This version of Lakksa is a coconut broth-based curry dish with rice noodles, chicken, shrimp, egg & bean sprouts (which I don’t get because I think beans should really be allowed to live a full life) with the option of either hot sauce on the side, or you can order the meal hot. Only order the Lakksa hot if you are a real fan of hot, because I LOVE hot food, but that is too hot for me!

I mention ‘version’ because, in Singapore and Malaysia, ‘Lakksa’ is a generic term for ‘soup’ so if you have had it before at other restaurants, like ‘Spring Rolls’ in Toronto, you will find that it may be quite different if they based their Lakksa on a different style of Malaysian cooking.

Other big plusses of the Singapore are the reasonable prices, and FAST service. I have a 10 minute drive from my office, but can still do the round trip and have a meal at a relaxed pace within one hour.Take out is also another good option, you can order 15 mins in advance and have it ready for pickup when you get there.Tell Abba that Adrian sent you. 🙂

The Singapore Restaurant
69 Kempster Avenue Ottawa, ON
(613) 820-4119

P.S. The significance of the picture is that Barry actually ate TWO Lakksas. If you have ever eaten ONE you will know how big a feat this is! Apparently only 4 people have done this, and I know two of them (I’m not one of them).

P.P.S. September 9, 2016…  Sadly all good things must come to an end.  Thanks Ah Bah,  Foo & Andrew for so many wonderful meals!  I hope all the client love near the end didn’t take years off your life!!

 

5 Responses

  1. Hey Adrian….. Long time no see.

    I have to agree, that is an amazing restaurant. It’s nice to know that it is still open and going strong….. I haven’t been there for more than five years. When I did go I ordered the Lakksa as well, but with the sauce on the side. I can be a bit of a wimp when it comes to spicy food.

    I think the first time I went there was during my short time with Network Planning in Kanata, so you can count me among your referrals. I went there quite often over the next year or so, since it was literally a two minute walk from my apartment.

    Now, that you’ve reminded me, I have yet another reason to get back to visit Ottawa.

  2. I echo Adrian’s reccommendation.

    My wife and I got engaged at Singapore and had our rehearsal dinner there!

    (When you see the place you will be suprised that we got engaged there but believe me, it was perfect).

    Abba was even in on it! THe ring came out with the dessert!

    Make sure you get the fritters for dessert!

    Hmm. I am craving Singapore now!

  3. I’ll have to ask Abba if that is the only engagement he hosted! I should also warn him that he might get a lot of nostalgic customers this week from this post!

    But that reminds me… SINGAPORE IS NOT OPEN ON MONDAYS!!

    He may end up with a very busy Tuesday! Last week they were turning people away at the door because I brought in a group of 14. 🙂

  4. mmmm…..Lakksa…..gonna go this week. Thanks for reminding me of how great Singapore is.

  5. Check them out on UrbanSpoon: http://www.urbanspoon.com/r/250/1456391/restaurant/Bayshore-Whitehaven/Singapore-Restaurant-Ottawa

    They currently are rated 93% with 16 votes (very good)!

    Note I was only allowed to vote once. 😉

Leave a Reply

