Why Volvo Drivers Suck @ Driving!



I came up with this explanation for what I, and several other people (more than one), have noted about how BAD Volvo drivers are.

Its a theory I would like to test with you:

I was scratching my head over this one, since I actually like Volvo’s, and I know several people who are good drivers that actually drive them, so what gives?!

Well, first off the theory works under the assumption that NOT ALL people who drive Volvo’s suck at driving, just enough of them above the average to make it notable to others.

Here goes the theory: If you are in a relationship with, or friends with, someone that you know is a horrible driver, what kind of car would you recommend or buy for them? I would suspect the recommendation would tend towards VERY SAFE SURVIVABLE vehicles. “My friend/family-member sucks at driving, they are going to get into an accident, so what would I put them in to increase their chances of survival?”

Who has spent more money marketing their vehicles as safe than Volvo? If someone asked you what make of car was safest, I am sure Volvo would be near or at the top of your list!

So this explains the observation… bad drivers are selectively being pushed towards driving Volvos!

What do you think?

Oh, and why this post today? Well, Barry and I witnesses perhaps some of the worst driving today ever from a person in a Volvo!

6 Responses

  1. Very simple way to test your hypothesis. If Volvo drivers are statistically that bad, auto insurers would have noticed by now and raised their premium rates relative to other comparable vehicles driven by comparable drivers in the same area.

    So get some quotes on insuring a Volvo to see if they really are that bad or you just happen to notice a difference.

    Markets can price risk like this very efficiently. If the price is different, the risk is different.

  2. Brilliant!

    There are other potential variables that factor into insurance cost, like rate of theft, and cost to repair, but I think this is a great way to quantify this!

    I will do some digging…

  3. […] Comments Adrian Bashford on Why Volvo Drivers Suck @ Driving!Thomas on Why Volvo Drivers Suck @ Driving!Adrian Bashford on Awww What a […]

  4. Pfff… I do not support you in your theory.

    Owner of Volvo S40 2003 Turbo

  5. I thought it was just me; with the exception of one volvo driver, all others i have witnessed in my lifetime incredibly never disappoint in their poor driving habits mostly defined by an inability to operate their vehicles with an awareness of the outside world(they drive as if only they exist/brain does not respond properly to external stimulus.)

  6. VOLVO ROCKS!!!!

Leave a Reply

